← HostLaunch Docs

How to Restore a HostLaunch Server From a DigitalOcean Snapshot or Backup

This guide assumes that you have already taken a snapshot or created a backup of your server within the DigitalOcean control panel. Additionally, this guide will only work if the server still exists in your customer's HostLaunch account, and has not been manually deleted from the ServerPilot acccount linked to your HostLaunch account.

To ensure that your snapshot will reliably restore, we recommend that you only restore snapshots that were taken when the server was powered off. Backups should always reliably restore as the method in which they are taken allows them to retain data consistency.

If the server was upgraded after the snapshot/backup was taken, it will be restored with the upgraded resources.

Any sites that were created by your customer after the snapshot/backup were taken will have to be recreated. Those sites will still exist in their HostLaunch account, but will need to be deleted and then created again. Additionally, they will need to recreate any databases associated with those sites and import their respective database backups, reupload all files, and reconfigure SSL certificates if necessary.

First, you'll want to login to your DigitalOcean account linked with your HostLaunch account. Once logged in, select the Droplets option in the left side-bar navigation.

Next, select the droplet associated with the HostLaunch server that you wish to restore the snapshot/backup on by clicking its name. If you have many servers on your account, use the search option to quickly locate the correct server by searching the server's IP address.

After you've selected the correct droplet, click on Snapshots if you're restoring a snapshot or Backups if you're restoring a backup.

Then select the More drop-down menu next to the snapshot/backup you wish to restore, and click Restore Droplet.

A pop-up requesting your confirmation will appear. Click on Restore Droplet to proceed.

The amount of time the restore process takes will vary depending on the size of the snapshot/backup, but typically only takes a few minutes.

That's it! As long as the restore was successful, you will receive a success message indicating as such, and the server should boot into the Ubuntu operating system shortly thereafter. All sites that existed when the snapshot/backup was created should work again.

If any existing SSL certificates were renewed after the restored snapshot/backup was taken, your customer's site(s) will be using an expired certificate. To get a valid SSL certificate again, they will need to disable SSL temporarily on any affected site, remove the domain(s), and re-add it/them back to the site. Then they will want to enable SSL again in order to have a new SSL certificate issued.

Last updated: April 13, 2020

Launch your hosting company now.