← HostLaunch Docs

How Your Customers' Plan Subscriptions Work

HostLaunch uses a subscription-based pricing model for your customers. When creating a server, your customers will pay a prorated amount based on the price of the server configuration they select and the remaining hours of the month. During the next billing cycle, they will pay the full monthly price for that configuration.

A subscription allows the customer to have one instance at that plan level online for one month of time. If the server is destroyed before that month is up, the customer can create another server on the same plan without incurring any additional cost until the subscription renews.

At the end of each month, any unused subscriptions will expire.

Subscriptions are prorated through the end of the current month unless there are 5 or fewer days left in the month: In that case, the customer is charged the prorated amount for the remaining time in the current month plus the full amount for the upcoming month. That subscription will not be charged for during the next billing cycle. All subscription prorated amounts are calculated based on the time the customer made the purchase in the UTC timezone.

At the end of the subscription period, the customer will be charged again for the upcoming month. If the customer has no active servers, they will not be charged anything.

Any unused subscriptions will be prominently displayed to your customers on the new server creation screen:

Other plans will be shown below, under the More Options link.

Last updated: January 22, 2020

Launch your hosting company now.